What is the European Social Fund?

Emil Wojtaluk

European Social Fund (ESF) is European Union’s main instrument to invest in human capital – namely workers. It assists by funding initiatives to help workers improve their skills and prospects for job. ESF is mainly desired for those Member States who have the lowest GDP compared to the EU average.

What are the most important priorities?

* Boost adaptability of workers with new skills, and enterprises with new ways of working (training opportunities, active career management, modernizing the institutions etc.),

* Improving access to employment (training and qualifications, helping women after pregnancy to get back to work by updating their skills),

* Helping people from disadvantaged groups to get jobs (minorities, immigrants, social excluded persons),

* Vocational training (improving the offer of companies and universities to be best suitable for individuals and to give more job prospects).

To whom it is addressed?

To Beneficiaries which are wide variety of organizations as: public administrations, workers’ and employers’ organizations, NGO’s, charities and companies.

And to Participants who are individuals who take part in ESF project like: young job seekers getting work placements, people seeking advice how to set up their own business, and many other projects.

How it works?

The fundamental point of the functioning of European Social Fund is partnership between the European Commission and national and regional authorities. Other partners like NGO’s and workers’ organizations are also taken into account in the creation of ESF strategy and monitoring its implementation. The European Social Fund strategy and budget are negotiated and decided by EU governments, European Parliament and The Commission.

There are two main principles constituting ESF. First is co-financing for private and public entities that vary from 50% to 85%, and in exceptional cases even 95% of the total project cost. The level of co-financing also depends on current economic situation of a particular region. And the second principle is shared management which covers preparation of ESF guidelines after consultations with stakeholders, and negotiating 7-year Operational Programmes between national authorities and The Commission.

Important numbers

* Every year EU gives over 10 billion € to the European Social Fund

* European Union will provide over 76 billion € in funding to the ESF for the period 2007 -2013 and 84 billion € for the years 2014-2020!

* Every year ESF supports and train more than 10 million people!

ESF – close to us

Summing up, I would like to stress our domestic example of using ESF in Lublin. John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin is realizing “Najlepsze Praktyki” project co-funded from the fund, which is aimed at: sending doctoral students for internships, English language course for research and teaching staff of the University, organizing lectures of visiting professors and finally – modern studies programmes with additional professional courses that are completely free of charge. Being a student of European Studies I was attending Public Speaking class co-funded exactly from ESF. There are also many other free courses to choose like: fundraising for international projects, project management, protocol and etiquette and much more. That is an example of improving of education that is covered by the main priorities of the European Social Fund.

We can find European Funds at almost every step, we just got used to them. Try to imagine – what if there would be no EU funds? I will leave our readers with that question.

25 thoughts on “What is the European Social Fund?

  1. Howdy! I know tis is kind of off tolic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  2. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog based upon on
    the same subjects you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would enjoy yohr work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail.

  3. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you actually understand what you are talking
    approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my site =).

    We can have a link trade arrangwment between us

  4. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new posts.

  5. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen to be utilizing?
    I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest blog and I’d like to fnd something more safeguarded.
    Do you hace any suggestions?

  6. Heya great blog! Does running a blog like tis require a great
    del of work? I hsve very litle understanding of programming however I was holing too start my own blog in the near future.

    Anyways, should you hsve any suggestions or tips
    for new bkog owners please share. I understand this is off subject
    nevertheess I simply wanted to ask. Cheers!

  7. After going over a number oof the articles on your web page, I realoly likje your technique of writimg
    a blog. I saved it to my bookmark websie list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look
    aat my website as well and tell me how you feel.

  8. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always interesting to read content from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

  9. Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and
    in accession capital to say that I get actually loved account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing for your feeds and even I
    fulfillment you get admission to persistently rapidly.

  10. Wonderful work! That is the type of information that are
    meant to be shared across the net. Disgrace on the search engines for
    not positioning this submit upper! Come on over and visit my site .
    Thanks =)

  11. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I quiye enjoted reading it, you will be a
    great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and
    may come back in the future. I want to encourage
    you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

  12. My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog. He was totally right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t consider just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  13. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for
    such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Skomentuj

